Skip to main content

Athena SWAN

What is Athena SWAN? 

The Athena SWAN charter accredits institutions and their departments, in recognition of their commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research. Its founding principles are:

  • The advancement of Science, Engineering and Technology is fundamental to quality of life across the globe.
  • It is vitally important that women are adequately represented in what has traditionally been, and is still, a male-dominated area.
  • Science cannot reach its full potential unless it can benefit from the talents of the whole population, and until women and men can benefit equally from the opportunities it affords.

Our awards

The University is a proud member of the Athena SWAN Charter and has held a Bronze institutional award since November 2011. We are delighted that all five CLES departments have achieved Bronze or Silver status, and they are all working towards the next award.

The Bronze Award recognises a department or institution’s achievements in progressing gender equality with their organisation, together with a commitment to future improvement.

An Athena SWAN Silver award is granted in recognition of the positive impact of actions that a department or institute has undertaken to encourage the recruitment, retention and promotion of women in their organisation.

You can view our awards and applications below.

CLES DepartmentAward LevelDate AwardedApplication
CLES Cornwall Silver November 2014
(Renewed November 2018)
View CLES Cornwall's Silver Athena SWAN application here 
Biosciences (Streatham) Bronze April 2017 View Biosciences' Athena SWAN application here
Geography (Streatham) Bronze April 2015 View Geography's Athena SWAN application here
Silver November 2015 View Psychology's Silver Athena SWAN application here 
Bronze November 2014 View Psychology's Bronze Athena SWAN application here
Sport and Health Sciences Silver April 2014 View Sport and Health Sciences Athena SWAN application here

Department contacts

The CLES Athena SWAN Discipline Leads chair the departments' working groups which work towards achieving Athena SWAN accreditation, as well as addressing other equality, diversity, and inclusion concerns within their departments.

They are supported by Equality Diversity Inclusion Advisor Beth Pitcher.

DepartmentContactDepartmental Working Group Name
CLES Cornwall Professor Annette Broderick CLES Cornwall Athena SWAN Working Group
Biosciences (Streatham) Dr Andrew Griffiths Biosciences Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee
Geography (Streatham) Professor Jo Little Geography's Equality and Diversity Committee
Psychology Dr Safi Darden and Dr Joseph Sweetman Psychology Athena SWAN Working Group
Sports and Health Sciences Dr Sharon Dixon and Dr Garrick Taylor SHS Athena SWAN Working Group